Michael Phelps: Golf Champ?

12 Aug

Watching #UglyHot super-human swimmer Michael Phelps hang up his Speedo for the last time is a pretty tough thing to do. America is just used to him being a total pro without even trying. “Oh yeah guys, I totally stopped training after Beijing. But I’m still going to win like 700 medals this year. Chill out.” And then he went and became the most decorated Olympian ever with 22 medals at the end of the London games.

“This’ll look awesome next to the 56 others!”

So what can a 27-year-old guy do post-retirement? Reality TV obviously. At least when you’re famous for being awesome, enjoying some mary jane every once in a while and being weirdly attractive, that’s definitely the best answer. So will Phelps have his own MTV special? An E! show with the Kardashian sisters? Is ESPN branching out? Nope, he’ll be on the family friendly Golf Channel.

Phelps is staring in The Haney Project, with ex-Tiger Woods coach Hank Haney. He’ll travel the world playing the best golf courses ever and perfecting yet another sport. By the time he’s 45 he’ll probably be an expert in at least 10.

It seems like Phelps agrees. He said in a Golf Channel statement, “as I enter this next chapter of my life, I think I will be able to shift my competitiveness to anything I put my mind to and golf is one of the things I want to focus on.” What’s next, extreme frisbee? Phelps would seriously love extreme frisbee, wouldn’t he?

The 22-time medalist should enjoy his time off right now, filming for Haney Project starts in September and will air in February 2013.

His crazy wingspan (armspan?) will make his swing unstoppable.

 

2 Responses to “Michael Phelps: Golf Champ?”

  1. Ari August 12, 2012 at 10:58 PM #

    i don’t usually like golf but i know i’ll will watch this religiously. real talk. love me some michael phelps

Leave a comment